Raymond E Feist

The Best Reading Order For Raymond E Feist Books

Last Updated on July 20, 2020

Wired For Youth is supported by readers. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This does not affect who we choose to review or what we recommend. Learn more

Raymund E Feist is among the best-known fantasy authors alive today. His books are thrilling and fascinating. Feist follows the footsteps of the genre’s grandfather, JRR Tolkien, in a polished and captivating way. His books are filled with characters that easily win the reader’s hearts and make it easy to imagine themselves standing on a strange new land for a few hours.

We propose three different reading orders for his books. It’s up to you which you feel better works for you! The first one is following the different series from start to finish. The second one focuses on Feist’s main saga, The Riftwar Cycle, which comprises many different book series. The last one, and it’s the one we wouldn’t really recommend for someone who’s never read any of Feist’s collections, is in literal publishing order. 


By series

We’ll be considering the first book of each series’ publishing date to establish the order, and then continue with each next installment. To this effect, the publishing dates might be later than the release of another series. We consider this is the most recommended way to go when first reading Feist’s novels, as it allows you to focus on each series before jumping to the next.

  1. The Riftwar Saga: 
  2. The Empire Trilogy: 
  3. Krondor’s Sons: 
  4. The Serpentwar Saga: 
  5. Faerie Tale (1988)
  6. The Riftwar Legacy: 
  7. Legends of the Riftwar: 
  8. Conclave of Shadows: 
  9. The Darkwar Saga: 
  10. The Demonwar Saga: 
  11. The Chaoswar Saga: 
  12. Short stories
    • Profit and the Grey Assassin (1982) 
    • Geroldo’s Incredible Trick (1997)
    • The Wood Boy (1998)
    • One to Go (2002) 
    • The Messenger (2003) 
    • Watchfire (2004)
  13. The Firemane Saga

By saga

Though Feist wrote many different series, most of his books are comprised of a single overarching story. These are all part of the Riftwar Cycle. If you’d like to learn all about the fantasy worlds of Midkemia and Kelewan, then this is the right reading order for you!

Once you finish this saga, then we’ll jump to the standalone books and series he wrote over the years. 

  1. The Riftwar Saga
  2. The Empire Trilogy
  3. Krondor’s Sons
  4. The Serpentwar Saga
  5. The Riftwar Legacy
  6. Legends of the Riftwar
  7. Conclave of Shadows
  8. The Darkwar Saga
  9. The Demonwar Saga
  10. The Chaoswar Saga
  11. Short stories
  12. The Firemane Saga
  13. Faerie Tale (1988)
  14. Standalone short stories
    • Geroldo’s Incredible Trick (1997)
    • One to Go (2002) 
    • Watchfire (2004) 

By publishing order

As we mentioned before, this is not the reading order we’d recommend the most. Especially not for first-time readers! That being said, if you wish to check each book in the order that it was published, even if you’ll end up jumping between series and characters, it can also be a fun experience to discover how the author’s style evolved over the years.

  1. Magician (1982)
  2. Profit and the Grey Assassin (1982) 
  3. Silverthorn (1985)
  4. A Darkness at Sethanon (1986)
  5. Daughter of the Empire (1987) 
  6. Faerie Tale (1988)
  7. Prince of the Blood (1989)
  8. Servant of the Empire (1990) 
  9. Mistress of the Empire (1992) 
  10. The King’s Buccaneer (1992)
  11. Shadow of a Dark Queen (1994)
  12. Rise of a Merchant Prince (1995)
  13. Rage of a Demon King (1997)
  14. Geroldo’s Incredible Trick (1997)
  15. Shards of a Broken Crown (1998)
  16. Krondor: The Betrayal (1998)
  17. The Wood Boy (1998)
  18. Krondor: The Assassins (1999)
  19. Krondor: Tear of the Gods (2000)
  20. Honoured Enemy (2001) 
  21. Murder in LaMut (2002)
  22. Talon of the Silver Hawk (2002)
  23. One to Go (2002) 
  24. Jimmy the Hand (2003) 
  25. King of Foxes (2003)
  26. The Messenger (2003) 
  27. Exile’s Return (2004)
  28. Watchfire (2004) 
  29. Flight of the Nighthawks (2005)
  30. Into a Dark Realm (2006)
  31. Wrath of a Mad God (2008)
  32. Rides a Dread Legion (2009)
  33. At the Gates of Darkness (2010)
  34. A Kingdom Besieged (2011)
  35. A Crown Imperiled (2012)
  36. Magician’s End (2013)
  37. Jimmy and the Crawler (2013)
  38. King of Ashes (2018)
  39. Queen of Storms (2020)

Raymond E. Feist graduated back in the late 70s and earned a BA in Communication Arts. It was during college that he thought of a story about a young boy who’d grow to become a magician. Two years later, he finished his first novel. It would take him a few more hours till he managed to get it published.

Recommended Posts:

Book summaries, notes, interviews, and more!

Get Bite-sized Lessons straight to your inbox

No spam, all value — we deliver the best bite-sized tips right to your inbox.